Skip to content
Go to site map

Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on Monday, January 13, 1913, on the campus of Howard University. The 22 illustrious founders of Delta Sigma Theta envisioned an organization dedicated to social action and exemplified this less than two months after the founding by participating in the Women’s Suffrage March. Since then, Delta Sigma Theta has continued to prioritize the interests of the Black community. With over 300,000 members, Delta Sigma Theta is the largest organization in the National Panhellenic Council!

The Resilient Rho Theta chapter of Delta Sigma Theta was chartered at Appalachian State on May 6, 1991, by 11 incredible women. Like our amazing charter members, Rho Theta members have established a reputation of strong leaders dedicated to academic excellence, community service, and sisterhood.

Rho Theta's mission is to continue to prioritize the mental health and overall wellness of Black women on the campus of Appalachian State, while continuing to exemplify the essence of sisterhood, educate our peers through effective, relevant programming, and to aid the High Country through philanthropy and acts of service.  

For more information about Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., please visit, and feel free to email the chapter at